top of page
  • Writer's pictureMegan at TheJetSetRN

My Top 5 in Atlanta, GA

Updated: May 30, 2023

Atlanta is a great city! I would love to go back and experience more of what it has to offer. Everything from great food, festivals, breweries, outdoor bar galore, worlds best aquarium, a variety of sports, and beyond.


A short but full weekend in Georgia was just what I needed to help get me through the horribly cold 2018 Chicago winter that persisted into late April. My boyfriend, his dad, and I went to visit his sister and got to do some exploring of her city. A great city, lots of young people, great food, concerts (we went to see Lorde.. SO GOOD), and much to see and do. These were my “TOP 5” favorite things from our weekend in Georgia!  

  1. The Georgia Aquarium: One of the best aquariums in the COUNTRY and world. I was told by a coworker it was breathtaking, I had to see it! Ticket prices are reasonable and well worth it. Many different sea creatures and the large tank with the whale sharks was one of the coolest things I have ever seen. I sat there mesmerized for a straight hour. Buy your tickets online to bypass the lines! 

  2. Ponce City Market: such a cool place, id live to go back and explore it more. Boutique shopping, many unique restaurants, outdoor seating, and a full carnival on the roof! We bought a charcuterie board and beer flights on the roof and got to see the worlds most perfect sunset over downtown Atlanta. Was amazing!   

  3. The Weather: When its cold and gross in Illinois you need to get away to keep you sane. I loved the weather in Atlanta in April. Perfect 70’s and sun, a few showers sprinkled in. Sweet Water Brewing Company is in Georgia and the water and their Pineapple beer screams summer. Crack open and enjoy the weather!

  4. The Garage at Monday Night Brewery: a relatively new spot, and they did it right! An industrial vibe, games, indoor/outdoor seating, many different beer options, fun shirts and great logo. A perfect day drinking location! Kind of off the beaten path, but worth a stop. We had a perfect afternoon soaking up the sun and tasting great beers. 

  5. The Food: I did not have a single bad thing to eat in Georgia! Of course I had to splurge and get fried chicken. So damn tasty! Next time id love to explore the food scene more when there’s more time. I follow @DariusCooks on Instagram and would love to try his restaurant. Go check his page out! His food is seriously drool worthy. 

-Accommodations: we stayed at this Airbnb. Perfect for a group, clean, friendly and professional owner, perfect location. Would highly suggest! 


-Flight: we flew Delta, and Delta’s home is Atlanta! No issues, quick flight, and many flight options to and from Chicago and Atlanta. A quick weekend trip is so easy!


Go see this trendy BIG city. I never realized how large and spaced out Atlanta is and its growing at a fast rate. Tons of young professional people and lots to do. I can’t wait to visit again in the near future! Next time I would love to venture over to Savannah, Georgia which looks incredible, historic, and seemingly perfect for a girls trip.  










16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page