top of page
  • Writer's pictureMegan at TheJetSetRN

What Travel Means To Me

Everyone has their reason to travel and everyone takes something different away from it. Whatever the motivation may be, we all should feel encouraged to discover the world around us.

"Travel changes you. As you move through this life and this world you change things slightly, you leave marks behind, however small. And in return, life - and travel - leaves marks on you. Most of the time, those marks - on your body or on your heart" -Anthony Bourdain



What Travel Means To Me


What does traveling mean to me. It means to see the beauty in the world through my own lens. Traveling means something different for everyone. To others its not important, to others it is a waste of funds, but for me it lights a fire in my soul and new appreciation for the world and people around me. It means waking up early to see the sun rise, getting lost in a new city trying to use google maps, and waiting out a storm to walk the beach. Since graduating nursing school I have traveled over 40,074+ miles, in two years, to new and beautiful places. I'm thankful for every opportunity, and for the fact my life and body has allowed me to do so, so freely. Here are a few of my driving forces to living impulsively and seizing every moment to hop on a plane and take on the world. 


Traveling means to take time for myself after caring for others 40+ hours a week. Working as a nurse has definitely changed me and my perspective of the world in a lot of ways. Most for the better. Since day one I have seen people having the worst days of their life, battling debilitating diseases, and overcoming obstacles that would honestly seem unimaginable to most. From talking to people on their last days, worst days, and everyday in-between. There is oftem regret, fear, anger, and denial to have lived a more “full” life. Others completely at peace with where they have ended up in this crazy thing called life. I never want to look back and wish “should have, could have” and wonder what could be. I want my last days to be thinking of all I have accomplished with my loved ones beside me and to have lived as “full” as possible. 


Traveling means helping me appreciate being in the moment. Soaking up a beautiful view, enjoying an incredible meal at a new restaurant, and catching a few more Z’s in a new city. This world is fast paced and hectic, we sometimes need to just stop and take a moment for ourselves for our physical AND mental health. One can travel for business and for work and quickly lose the luster of travel due to the hectic nature and long, boring airport days. Traveling is an art and you’re the artist to do what you want with your time allotted. Take a moment to sit at a new coffee shop and read a book, take a dip in the ocean, go grab a bite to eat with your best friend you haven’t seen in months, do something for YOU. 


Traveling means looking at the money I earn busting my ass in useful way to grow and learn, rather than staring at it in my bank account. Yeah we all have bills, we have responsibilities, and we have obligations, some more than others. BUT I promise you set aside $20-30 a pay check and you’ll have a great vacation in a years time if you plan accordingly. I never buy a vacation until I’ve done some “investigating” like a FBI agent and find the best rates. Until money grows on a tree in the backyard I will forever travel this way, and use my hard earned cash to its fullest potential. 


Traveling means learning about your friends, significant other, and/or family in a new way. You start to appreciate and notice the little things, for better or worse when people unplug from daily life. Take that girls trip you’ve always talked about with your bestie, go sip wine in a new city with your mom, take an anniversary trip with your love. I guarantee your relationships will grow and  you will create memories along the way. What is life without having and appreciating those important people in your life? Nothing. Appreciate every new step along the way with them by your side. Those are the memories we will cherish forever!


Traveling in the best way makes me feel so small, in a world so big. With that being said our effect on the world big or small makes a huge impact. Traveling helps make you more aware of the world and people who are a part of it. It offers a reality check. We all think we need to do something grandiose in life to make an impact. Sometimes those small acts of kindness to a stranger, words of encouragement to a friend, or new perspective from an awe inspiring trip help light a fire under someones ass and inspires them to live a “fuller” life and create a life worth living. 


Traveling is like school without any rules and no designated recess. I have learned more about myself and am an entirely different person than I was a few years ago, as a new baby nurse. I've never wanted to live a conventional life, I thrive on using the creative side of my brain, as well as analytical. Nursing is a very black and white, serious at times, policy driven career. I try to sprinkle in humor and MacGyver equipment a certain way, but I look to travel, food and photography, as my outlet to be me. I learn ways to make the most of a few days in a new city, what foods are my new found love, how to sneak into the front row at concerts, and beyond. Every trip comes with their share of hiccups, mistakes, and let downs. With that you learn to improvise and be flexible. Improvising and being flexible has become a huge part of my life, especially in the medical field


Traveling means I am doing something for me before life becomes more complicated. Someday I would love a house with the white picket fences, babies, a dream wedding, and beyond. Many have said do things now because someday you wont be able to so freely. I want to instill a sense of travel in my future family, as mine has for me. Kids, major responsibilities, and a home are a major hurdles to overcome financially and for finding the time. Now is the time and I want to take full appreciation for it right NOW. If you have the time, or you don't, FIND THE TIME. We make time for the things that are important to us.


Traveling helps make many memories that you carry with you forever. Don’t get me wrong, I'm just as happy sitting on my couch with my pets and a glass of wine. After my 30-ish years of traveling, my mind has been filled with happiness, sadness, amazement, gratitude, bellyaching-pee your pants laughs, and all the in-between. I hope that one day I can have great stories to tell my kids and grand-kids and inspire them to be adventurous and curious to what the world can offer them. I love looking back on old photos and sharing photos with the people in my life. It’s like a snapshot into a frozen moment of time. 


I hope travel has effected your life for the better or you have found that outlet that allows you to “live your best life” as corny as that sounds. Traveling offers me the room to grow, freedom to be me, happiness within, and an appreciation for the world and people around us. As morbid as it is we all are not guaranteed tomorrow. Most people say “what’s the rush” or “you have time” but neglect to realize every moment we are given is not guaranteed or to be taken for granted. Put to rest the grudge you’re holding, buy the pair of shoes you’ve been awing over, and take that trip with your “people” that you’ve always talked about doing. Life is short, precious, and fragile. Make the most of it and see this amazing beautiful, dysfunctional world! 


Love,


Megan

58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page